The Bauchi State College of Agriculture is a state-owned tertiary institution. It has the Provost as the Chief Executive of the institution he is assisted by a Deputy Provost who acts on his behalf whenever he is out of the town. The Registrar is the Chief Administrative Officer of the College. The institution’s daily administration is coordinated by the Registrar. There are three (3) units in the Registry Department, namely; Establishment and staff development, Academic/Student Affairs, and information and Council Affairs. The Registrar also serves as Secretary to the Governing Council and Academic Board.

There are nine (9) Departments in the College, which are under the leadership of HODS who are elected from the academic staff of each department after every two years. The other departments are Bursary, Library, Medical, Works and Physical Planning. The institution’s position as a state-owned made it maintain close association with the State Government through the Ministry of Higher Education. The institutions also maintain close association with the National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) as a supervising body on the issue of accreditation of Programmes.